Borderlands, Eli Roth




Well, whatever people and critics may think about this adaptation, I actually enjoyed watching it. It's definitely not perfect but it's no as bad as I thought based on the reviews. If you can see beyond the 💩 joke and choppy editing then you'll see the movie for what it is : a weird gritty -a bit silly- fast-paced and action-packed fun adaptation, with more carnage/fight than plot development and a tons of FX and cute badabooms. Hey, it worked with me and I'm a picky viewer when it comes to action and sci-fi.

The cast is awesome. I loved the fact that the movie shows off some 50+ actors, especially female characters really badass and action-packed in a entertainment industry that is often not tender with female lead, but usually easily play with female hypersexualization and has a bad case of agism. I mean, look at JLC and CB they are so damn hot and badass in this movie ! And Chris Rock still his best in a mix of self banter and action klutz badass.

Being a gamer myself, I usually don't like game movie adaptation (and yes I'm including "the last of us" in my dislike whatever people think about it). But even if Borderlands isn't what I'd call a success in term of adaptation, it still did the trick for me. I mean, it's fun, everybody seems to have so much fun from the actors, to the director, and the FX artists and so on... When you adapt a game to the big screen it should be the only focus, having fun. There's already so much world building, character development and storytelling in the game that you don't exactly have a lot of leach way in the creative part when you adapt a video game.

You can feel the slimy grotesqueness from Roth and he definitely let his mark everywhere in the movie 💜 and the punchlines and banters are silly but sooooo good 👍

It's colorful and kind of cute and angsty in a weird gory and carnage-ish way proper to Borderlands. It made me want to give a go to the game again.